Author Topic: Routing versus Disrupted Units  (Read 512 times)

Professor X

Routing versus Disrupted Units
« on: January 28, 2016, 07:39:01 AM »
I'm new to this game and am trying to wrap my mind around something:

A "disrupted" unit is on the verge of breaking,
A "routed" unit has broken and is fleeing the battlefield.

Yet it takes 2 command actions to "reorganize" a disrupted unit, but only 1 command action to "rally" a routed unit.

It seems to me that this should be reversed.

What am I missing? Can someone explain why this approach makes sense? It's really disturbing me! Thanks.

Kevin

• Administrator
Re: Routing versus Disrupted Units
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2016, 08:38:45 AM »
When a routed unit is rallied, it goes to Hold.  80% of the time you then have to spend a second Command Action to get it moving again. (The other 20% an enemy unit pounces on it before that can happen.)  If you're talking a line unit that's advancing on some archers, you'd be spending that second Command Action to put the unit to Close 100% of the time.  So it's 2 Command Actions either way.
However beautiful the strategy, you should occasionally look at the results. - Winston Churchill

Professor X

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2016, 09:57:12 AM »
Thank you. Is there a house rule to enable a player to spend only 1 command action to put a disrupted unit on "hold"?  That would seem to make sense then.
But even then, and even as the rules are written, this point remains: at best, ordering a disrupted unit seems to be just as difficult as ordering a routed unit. I continue to struggle with that conceptually.

Kevin

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2016, 10:12:00 AM »
Be definition, house rules are whatever you decide they are.