Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
1
Rules / Giant War Elephant and ammo rules
« Last post by Duane_Nordeen on December 01, 2020, 09:39:14 PM »
If the Giant War Elephant is out of ammo, does the howdah attack while engaged?
2
General Battleground: Fantasy Warfare Discussion / Re: Consolidated errata
« Last post by Torgamor on September 03, 2020, 03:17:33 AM »
It's funny you should mention that.  We'll be doing an update on our development blog very soon!


If you're not on our mailing list, you can sign up to get a notification the second we post it.

Done, waiting excitedly. :-)
3
General Battleground: Fantasy Warfare Discussion / Re: Consolidated errata
« Last post by Hannibal on September 02, 2020, 12:05:33 PM »
It's funny you should mention that.  We'll be doing an update on our development blog very soon!


If you're not on our mailing list, you can sign up to get a notification the second we post it.
4
General Battleground: Fantasy Warfare Discussion / Consolidated errata
« Last post by Torgamor on September 02, 2020, 04:20:45 AM »
Is there a consolidated list of all current card errata available anywhere (including the Hawkshold update)? I'd like to correct all my cards before giving 4.0 a shot. Haven't played for a long time. :-)
5
News and Teasers / Re: Lords of Vlachold Kickstarter
« Last post by RushAss on June 30, 2020, 04:27:50 PM »
Awesome Torrg!  We're sure you're going to enjoy them!
6
News and Teasers / Re: Lords of Vlachold Kickstarter
« Last post by Torrg on June 27, 2020, 06:41:35 PM »
I am in, I signed up for 2 of the Vlachold decks.
Looking forward to them.
7
Rules / Re: Questions during a game
« Last post by Stubby on June 26, 2020, 11:29:39 PM »
I do like the rulebook better for sure.  There are really quite a bit of little things that seem a bit shakey at first.  As an example...Disrupted.  Initially, I am not totally clear on how a unit gets disrupted and really what the main point of it is.  If you go to the Index on page 144 it refers to "Disrupted (Status)...23,88,101,102, 134"  now if you go to those pages, none of them tell you HOW a unit gets disrupted.  Looking it over for a while I finally found how a unit gets disrupted on page 87.  It would be nice for all the rules regarding being disrupted were summarized on a single page or entry.  I also play X-WING second edition and if you are familiar with that game they have a rules reference document online that is alphabetized.  They would have all the rules for "disrupted" on a single entry for instance (you would just go to D and look it up as it is in alphabetical order).

8
Rules / Re: Questions during a game
« Last post by Hannibal on June 26, 2020, 03:23:54 PM »
 
1)
I see on page 68 of the rulebook where you need "at least 1.75" of the final rushing unit's front side must touch the enemy's facing side" so thank you very much for identifying that (and I subsequently had to look harder to find it in the rulebook)

Tangentially, what do you think of the Rulebook?  We tried very hard to improve it over previous iterations.
9
Rules / Re: Questions during a game
« Last post by Stubby on June 26, 2020, 01:20:19 PM »
Thanks for the response again!

1)
I see on page 68 of the rulebook where you need "at least 1.75" of the final rushing unit's front side must touch the enemy's facing side" so thank you very much for identifying that (and I subsequently had to look harder to find it in the rulebook)

So unit 2 would NOT get drawn into the combat.  OK

"...but on the following turn Unit 2 could turn and engage Unit C since it could get exactly half of it's front to touch the front of Unit C. "
This I am not sure is possible as unit 2 in this case would have no visibility of unit B or C as it would be facing unit 1 and would be flush against them.

2)
I now see what I can do though in the peasant mob and militia's turn.  The Peasant mob can move backwards then reform to face the enemy.  -1MC for moving backwards and -2 MC for reform.  Leaving me with 1.25" in movement to move backwards which is enough to clear the militia and face the unit B & C if I am reforming from the center of the card.  So I don't see how the peasant mob could final rush in their following turn but they can at least turn to face the enemy flankers.
10
Rules / Re: Questions during a game
« Last post by RushAss on June 26, 2020, 11:13:44 AM »
Sure thing!

1)I choose to two's company Unit 1 with B&C, does Unit 2 get drawn into the combat as I would be touching it?  How does that then work?  Can attacking unit C choose target unit 1 or 2 to attack in that instance?
OK, you really can't two's company Unit 1 because each attacking unit must be able to get at least half of its card front to touch the unit it's attacking.  However, you could do it if Unit 1 was facing both enemy units, or down in the picture.  If that happened, it is assumed that there is a micro thin line between Unit 1 and that attacking unit (Unit C in this case) but on the following turn Unit 2 could turn and engage Unit C since it could get exactly half of it's front to touch the front of Unit C.  You'd wind up with what would look like a brickwork pattern then where all 4 units are engaged but each line is staggered relative to the other.

2) To my understanding I can not reform the peasant mob 2 to face the flanking unit C because the card would overlap the militia.  Page 44 says"
Reform: the unit rotates to face any direction....the unit must have the space to rotate while avoiding overlap with other units."
True, but you could back it up slightly and then reform it so that it's not touching Unit 1.  Also, you can still rotate the unit with part of the unit temporarily overlapping an allied unit as long as it is not overlapping when the reform has been completed.

I have to assume the rotate point is either the center of the card itself.  But that isn't totally clear either.  Is the rotate point the center point of the cards facing?  I don't think so, but again it isn't totally clear where the point of rotation is.  In either case, the peasant mob would be overlapping the militia.  The peasant mob is stuck with it's flank exposed during its turn (the only thing it would do without direct control would be to move over to its left since it is in C orders).  My observation about this was that having units directly behind each other has a major drawback when there are threatening flankers.
The rotate point for a reform or about face is always the center of the card.  One thing you could do to avoid this is have the backing unit move in such a fashion that only part of it touches the unit it is backing up.  That way if the unit in the front gets flanked you can easily counter flank on your turn.  Having backup units flush against the unit they are backing up is fine in the center of the line.  It takes a bit more skill to pull it off cleanly on the flank.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10